Sunday, April 22, 2018
News: Page (1) of 1 - 04/04/12 Email this story to a friend. email article Print this page (Article printing at page facebook
Poe awarded for AP investigative series on NYPD
4 AP reporters win Poe Award for investigative series on NYPD Muslim surveillance
By The Associated Press

WASHINGTON (AP) ' Four Associated Press reporters have won the Edgar A. Poe Award for their stories about the New York City Police Department's widespread surveillance of Muslims after the Sept. 11 terror attacks.

Matt Apuzzo, Adam Goldman, Eileen Sullivan and Chris Hawley won the award from the White House Correspondents' Association for stories that the judges said "read like a novel, with twists and turns that leave you shaking your head in disbelief." The award, which carries a $2,500 prize, honors excellence in coverage of events of significant national or regional importance.

It's the third major prize for the series.

Other winners included ABC's Jake Tapper and Politico's Glenn Thrush, Carrie Budoff Brown, Manu Raju and John Bresnahan. They won the Merriman Smith award for excellence in presidential coverage under pressure.

Page: 1


Our Privacy Policy --- About The U.S. Daily News - Contact Us - Advertise With Us - Privacy Guidelines